Facebook comments

Some people take Facebook comments WAY too seriously. A year or so ago (I don’t really remember, it’s not that important to me), I made a comment about a photo of a guy’s 2 sons. They were cute, and also looked old enough to be young adults. It wasn’t a risque comment, just something about how they’re “Cougar Bait”. Now, with all the T-shirts going around saying “Cougar Bait”, I thought this was a compliment. This guy’s over reaction to my comment made me feel as though he was practically accusing me of being some sort of pedophile!

The worst part of it was, he felt he had to “EXPLAIN” to me why he didn’t like my comment, and that I needed to immediately remove this comment from his Facebook page. What the….? Couldn’t he just hit the delete button on my comment? I was at work, could only read the message on my cell phone, but would have to get to a computer in order to delete the comment.

Well, I couldn’t just get up from my desk (where I had no access to a computer), and go to the Library where there was a computer (that runs as slow as molasses), I had to wait until my lunch break to do so. I ended up not having lunch that day, because I had to go to the library, and wait for the computer to come up (slow as molasses, remember?), log in, find the comment, and delete it. I also deleted him from my “Friends” list. It’s just easier that way.

Since the incident, this guy has tried to get back in my good graces, and has tried to “friend” me again, but I just don’t have time for that. I have over 600 friends on Facebook, and he’s just not that important to me. He’s not someone I could call if my car broke down in the middle of the night on a lonely road, or anytime, for that matter. In fact, I don’t believe I even had his phone number.

This is the same guy who used to post horrible photos he took of me at social gatherings. You know, the kind that for some reason expand to make you look twice your normal size? To me, that’s far worse than a comment about someone’s kids being cute. But I never sent him a message saying “Hey, I don’t like this photo you took of me, I hid it” or whatever. I just untagged the photo and let it go.

We’re big boys/girls now. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. So, if someone’s comment on your Facebook page doesn’t please you, just delete it. Don’t rub their nose in it like you’d rub a dog’s nose in its own feces to show it that it did something wrong. Unfriend them if necessary. If they’re constantly posting offensive things on your Facebook page, arguing with your friends, putting people down, etc., you’re far better off just “unfriending” them and letting it go.

Then, if they ask you why you unfriended them, you can tell them, but not until then. Don’t bring a gun to a knife fight.

One thought on “Facebook comments

Leave a Reply

